BTC/USD $68,420 +2.8%
ETH/USD $3,540 +1.4%
SOL/USD $142.80 -0.6%
BNB/USD $605.20 +0.9%
XRP/USD $0.62 -1.2%
DOGE/USD $0.18 +5.4%
BTC/USD $68,420 +2.8%
ETH/USD $3,540 +1.4%
SOL/USD $142.80 -0.6%
BNB/USD $605.20 +0.9%
XRP/USD $0.62 -1.2%
DOGE/USD $0.18 +5.4%
Policy

UniCredit Considers Crypto Asset Custody Service

UniCredit, described in unconfirmed reports as Italy's second-largest bank, is weighing a crypto asset custody service alongside early-stage brokerage plans, marking one of the clearest signs

AnonymousCryptoCompass newsroom
September 11, 2026
7 min read
NEWS
UniCredit Considers Crypto Asset Custody Service
CryptoCompass editorial visual for policy coverage.

UniCredit, described in unconfirmed reports as Italy's second-largest bank, is weighing a crypto asset custody service alongside early-stage brokerage plans, marking one of the clearest signs yet that a systemic European lender is testing the digital-asset infrastructure that MiCA now makes navigable for banks. The plans remain at an early stage, and no final decision has been made.

UniCredit weighs a crypto asset custody service, Bloomberg reports

UniCredit is considering expanding its digital-asset offerings, including early-stage custody and brokerage plans, Bloomberg News reported on September 11, 2026. The report frames the UniCredit crypto asset custody plan as consideration, not a launched product. For related coverage, see Blockstream Rejects Ransom Demand for 600 BTC in Liquid Exploit.

Bloomberg attributed a technology-provider selection process to people familiar with the plans who requested anonymity, describing contemplated infrastructure that would hold digital assets and facilitate buying and selling. The lender itself has not issued an on-record announcement in the fetched evidence. For related coverage, see Aavegotchi GHST Honeypot Flag: What On-Chain Data Can Show.

Consideration does not confirm a launch

The publicly readable Bloomberg report explicitly states that product and service discussions remained at an early stage and that no final decision had been made. Considering a service is materially different from approving or launching one, and the sourcing rests on anonymous people rather than a bank filing.

The second-largest-bank descriptor comes from unconfirmed reports and lacks a verified ranking metric and as-of date, so it should be read as a characterization rather than an established fact. Nothing in the verified evidence shows UniCredit has approved or begun a custody offering.

What crypto asset custody means, as general context

Crypto asset custody, in general industry terms, refers to safeguarding digital assets or the private keys used to access them on a client's behalf. This definition is context only; the research brief provides no operational detail specific to UniCredit's contemplated service.

How custody differs from trading

Custody alone does not establish plans for trading, lending, or investment products, even though Bloomberg's report separately references brokerage-style buying and selling as a distinct contemplated function. The distinction matters because custody obligations, key management, and client-asset segregation carry different risk and regulatory weight than execution services.

No supported tokens, technology stack, insurance arrangement, or security guarantee can be inferred from the supplied material. The scrutiny that surrounds token-level custody claims, visible in coverage of the SNT token owner balance-edit flag, underscores why generic custody features cannot be assumed for any specific asset here.

The MiCA rulebook that would govern a UniCredit launch

Under EU MiCA, an existing credit institution can provide crypto-asset services through a notification route rather than a full fresh authorization. Article 60(1) permits a credit institution to provide crypto-asset services if it notifies required information to its home Member State competent authority at least 40 working days before first providing those services.

MiCA bank notification: minimum advance notice

At least 40 working days

Under MiCA Article 60(1), a credit institution must notify its home Member State competent authority at least 40 working days before first providing crypto-asset services. Missing information can suspend the period, and services cannot begin while notification is incomplete. No UniCredit notification or launch date has been established. Source: ESMA, MiCA Article 60.

Article 60(7) requires the notification to include a programme of operations, anti-money-laundering controls, business continuity, ICT security documentation, client-asset segregation procedures, and a custody policy where custody is intended. Those requirements map directly onto the custody function UniCredit is reportedly weighing.

The competent authority must assess notification completeness within 20 working days of receipt under Article 60(8), with any deadline to supply missing information capped at 20 working days from the request and the initial notification period suspended until that deadline expires.

MiCA notification: completeness assessment

Within 20 working days

Under MiCA Article 60(8), the competent authority must assess notification completeness within 20 working days of receipt. This is a completeness check, not a guaranteed launch approval. The research does not establish that UniCredit has submitted a notification. Source: ESMA, MiCA Article 60.

Article 60(8) expressly prohibits beginning crypto-asset services while a notification remains incomplete, meaning the advance-notice window is not an unconditional launch countdown. Article 60(12) then requires competent authorities to relay verified notification information to ESMA, which must publish it in its register by the intended service starting date.

These are general legal requirements; the research does not establish that UniCredit has filed any notification. They matter because they mark the concrete milestones that would separate technology procurement from readiness to operate, a distinction competitor coverage of the reported provider search has largely skipped.

An earlier UniCredit warning on crypto banking risk

The bank has previously voiced caution on digital-asset risk. UniCredit deputy vice chair and board risk committee chair Elena Carletti warned that Europe could struggle to contain a crypto-linked banking shock because it could not easily reproduce the U.S. emergency protection of deposits seen after the 2023 bank failures, according to crypto.news reporting from a May 28, 2026 IESE Business School conference in Madrid. That comment predates the custody report and is not a response to it.

Which UniCredit custody details remain unconfirmed

The supplied material answers what is being considered but not how it would work in practice. Launch timing, intended customer segments, and geographic availability are not specified in the verified evidence.

Assets, partners, and approvals

Supported assets, the chosen technology provider, pricing, the operating entity, and regulatory status are likewise not established by the fetched evidence. The absence of these details in this brief is a limit of the available reporting, not proof that UniCredit has withheld them elsewhere or that it has decided against disclosure.

That verification gap echoes how headline claims about large institutional figures require tracing to primary records, a pattern visible in coverage of the disputed Coinbase collapse figure and of the Grayscale GLNK ETF valuation, where the specific number, not the framing, carried the weight.

What would clarify UniCredit's custody plans

An attributable decision from UniCredit and a published service scope would convert the current consideration into a defined product readers could evaluate. Absent that, the story stays anchored to anonymous sourcing and early-stage discussions.

Terms prospective customers could assess

If UniCredit publishes details, custody responsibilities, client-asset segregation terms, and access conditions are the information prospective customers could actually assess against MiCA's Article 60(7) documentation requirements. A MiCA notification appearing in the ESMA register under Article 60(12) would be the clearest external signal that procurement has moved toward operational readiness. These are verification points to watch, not expected announcements.

FAQ: UniCredit crypto asset custody

Has UniCredit launched a crypto custody service?

No. The available reporting describes consideration and early-stage plans, and Bloomberg states no final decision has been made.

When could UniCredit launch the service?

No launch date is provided in the supplied material. Under MiCA, any credit institution taking the notification route must notify its competent authority at least 40 working days before first providing services, but the research does not show UniCredit has filed.

Would UniCredit support Bitcoin or Ethereum custody?

Supported assets are not specified in the verified evidence. Neither Bitcoin nor Ethereum can be inferred as included, and the reported consideration names no token lineup.

Disclaimer: This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute financial or investment advice. Cryptocurrency and digital asset markets carry significant risk. Always do your own research before making decisions.

The post UniCredit Considers Crypto Asset Custody Service was initially published on Coincu.